Instructions for the transition period

Select degree programme

Search for degree programme

Bachelor's Programmes

Master's and Licentiate's Programmes

Doctoral Programmes


Select other education provider

The University of Helsinki moved to a new system of degree programmes on 1 August 2017. However, students can continue to study and graduate in accordance with the old (2016-2017) degree requirements during a transition period that ends on 18 December 2020. NB! In some degree programmes, the transition period may be shorter or longer.

As a teacher, it is important that you know whether your students are studying in accordance with the old or new degree requirements. The degree structures can differ for example in the required study credits. The rules concerning the expiry of studies are also more restrictive in the new degree programmes. You can find more information on the differences between the degree structures here.

On 1 August 2020, all students will be automatically transferred to the new degree programmes to complete their degree. Students can also choose to transfer to new programmes in advance. More information on the practicalities of transferring can be found here.

Both general and faculty-specific information on the degree reform and transition period can be found on the Instructions for Students website:

- Degree reform and transition period in Bachelor's and Master's degrees
- Degree reform and transition period in Doctoral degrees